Resident/Visitor?

According to Chris Wilson, via https://churchm.ag/digital-visitor-vs-digital-resident/

Definitions:

Digital Visitors

A digital visitor is someone who uses the digital technology and the internet for a specific task. Such as searching for the answer to a question, or uploading a video. In this sense, they are visiting the internet to do a task and then leave.

Digital Resident

A digital resident uses the internet to connect or be with other people. As such, their identity is exhibited by their online presence and they “live online”. This type of person might well default to going online or using the internet for something even if they don’t have a specific task in mind.

Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 6.52.39 pm.png

While I have been using the internet platform all my life to source for credible and valuable sources for all uses such as academic and personal use, I gain new insights and find information while surfing social media platforms leisurely. I do not participate in online communities due to my shy (at first) personality. However, I do keep up with my friends who share the same area of interest through online social media platforms, which I patron every day without fail. Due to my shy personality, I tend to avoid getting in contact with strangers/new people. Thus, I have yet to experience collaborating with others, apart from previous academic group projects which my friends and I have worked together through online mediums. In terms of creating online materials, I have actively created online materials like infographics on graphics creation websites previously. I do manage my online identity very closely as they reflect who I am as a person, as well as privacy and security issues which I deem extremely important as it concerns my cyber wellbeing.

To conclude, I am more of a digital resident than visitor.

(296 words)

Leave a comment